114 Original Scores in the Oscar Race

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced that 114 scores from eligible feature-length motion pictures released in 2014 are in contention for nominations in the Original Score category for the 87th Oscars.

The eligible scores along with their composers are listed below, in alphabetical order by film title:

  1. “American Revolutionary: The Evolution of Grace Lee Boggs,” Vivek Maddala, composer
  2. “Anita,” Lili Haydn, composer
  3. “Annabelle,” Joseph Bishara, composer
  4. “At Middleton,” Arturo Sandoval, composer
  5. “Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt?,” Elia Cmiral, composer
  6. “Bears,” George Fenton, composer
  7. “Belle,” Rachel Portman, composer
  8. “Big Eyes,” Danny Elfman, composer
  9. “Big Hero 6,” Henry Jackman, composer
  10. “The Book of Life,” Gustavo Santaolalla and Tim Davies, composers
  11. “The Boxtrolls,” Dario Marianelli, composer
  12. “Brick Mansions,” Trevor Morris, composer
  13. “Cake,” Christophe Beck, composer
  14. “Calvary,” Patrick Cassidy, composer
  15. “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” Henry Jackman, composer
  16. “The Case against 8,” Blake Neely, composer
  17. “Cheatin’,” Nicole Renaud, composer
  18. “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes,” Michael Giacchino, composer
  19. “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them,” Son Lux, composer
  20. “Divergent,” Tom Holkenborg, composer
  21. “Dolphin Tale 2,” Rachel Portman, composer
  22. “Dracula Untold,” Ramin Djawadi, composer
  23. “Draft Day,” John Debney, composer
  24. “The Drop,” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
  25. “Earth to Echo,” Joseph Trapanese, composer
  26. “Edge of Tomorrow,” Christophe Beck, composer
  27. “Endless Love,” Christophe Beck and Jake Monaco, composers
  28. “The Equalizer,” Harry Gregson-Williams, composer
  29. “Exodus: Gods and Kings,” Alberto Iglesias, composer
  30. “The Fault in Our Stars,” Mike Mogis, composer
  31. “Finding Vivian Maier,” J. Ralph, composer
  32. “Fury,” Steven Price, composer
  33. “Garnet’s Gold,” J. Ralph, composer
  34. “Girl on a Bicycle,” Craig Richey, composer
  35. “The Giver,” Marco Beltrami, composer
  36. “Godzilla,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  37. “Gone Girl,” Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, composers
  38. “The Good Lie,” Martin Léon, composer
  39. “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  40. “The Great Flood,” Bill Frisell, composer
  41. “Hercules,” Fernando Velázquez, composer
  42. “The Hero of Color City,” Zoë Poledouris-Roché and Angel Roché, Jr., composers
  43. “The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies,” Howard Shore, composer
  44. “The Homesman,” Marco Beltrami, composer
  45. “Horrible Bosses 2,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
  46. “How to Train Your Dragon 2,” John Powell, composer
  47. “The Hundred-Foot Journey,” A.R. Rahman, composer
  48. “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1,” James Newton Howard, composer
  49. “I Origins,” Will Bates and Phil Mossman, composers
  50. “The Imitation Game,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  51. “Inherent Vice,” Jonny Greenwood, composer
  52. “Interstellar,” Hans Zimmer, composer
  53. “The Interview,” Henry Jackman, composer
  54. “Into the Storm,” Brian Tyler, composer
  55. “Jal,” Sonu Nigam and Bickram Ghosh, composers
  56. “The Judge,” Thomas Newman, composer
  57. “Kill the Messenger,” Nathan Johnson, composer
  58. “Kochadaiiyaan,” A.R. Rahman, composer
  59. “Legends of Oz: Dorothy’s Return,” Toby Chu, composer
  60. “The Lego Movie,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
  61. “The Liberator,” Gustavo Dudamel, composer
  62. “Life Itself,” Joshua Abrams, composer
  63. “Living Is Easy with Eyes Closed,” Pat Metheny, composer
  64. “Lucy,” Eric Serra, composer
  65. “Maleficent,” James Newton Howard, composer
  66. “The Maze Runner,” John Paesano, composer
  67. “Merchants of Doubt,” Mark Adler, composer
  68. “Million Dollar Arm,” A.R. Rahman, composer
  69. “A Million Ways to Die in the West,” Joel McNeely, composer
  70. “Mr. Peabody & Sherman,” Danny Elfman, composer
  71. “Mr. Turner,” Gary Yershon, composer
  72. “The Monuments Men,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  73. “A Most Violent Year,” Alex Ebert, composer
  74. “My Old Lady,” Mark Orton, composer
  75. “Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb,” Alan Silvestri, composer
  76. “Nightcrawler,” James Newton Howard, composer
  77. “No God, No Master,” Nuno Malo, composer
  78. “Noah,” Clint Mansell, composer
  79. “Non-Stop,” John Ottman, composer
  80. “The One I Love,” Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans, composers
  81. “Ouija,” Anton Sanko, composer
  82. “Paddington,” Nick Urata, composer
  83. “Penguins of Madagascar,” Lorne Balfe, composer
  84. “Pompeii,” Clinton Shorter, composer
  85. “The Purge: Anarchy,” Nathan Whitehead, composer
  86. “The Railway Man,” David Hirschfelder, composer
  87. “Red Army,” Christophe Beck and Leo Birenberg, composers
  88. “Ride Along,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
  89. “Rocks in My Pockets,” Kristian Sensini, composer
  90. “Rosewater,” Howard Shore, composer
  91. “St. Vincent,” Theodore Shapiro, composer
  92. “The Salt of the Earth,” Laurent Petitgand, composer
  93. “Selma,” Jason Moran, composer
  94. “The Signal,” Nima Fakhrara, composer
  95. “Snowpiercer,” Marco Beltrami, composer
  96. “Song of the Sea,” Bruno Coulais, composer
  97. “Still Alice,” Ilan Eshkeri, composer
  98. “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya,” Joe Hisaishi, composer
  99. “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles,” Brian Tyler, composer
  100. “That Awkward Moment,” David Torn, composer
  101. “The Theory of Everything,” Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
  102. “This Is Where I Leave You,” Michael Giacchino, composer
  103. “300: Rise of an Empire,” Tom Holkenborg, composer
  104. “Tracks,” Garth Stevenson, composer
  105. “Transformers: Age of Extinction,” Steve Jablonsky, composer
  106. “22 Jump Street,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
  107. “Unbroken,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  108. “Under the Skin,” Mica Levi, composer
  109. “Virunga,” Patrick Jonsson, composer
  110. “Visitors,” Philip Glass, composer
  111. “A Walk among the Tombstones,” Carlos Rafael Rivera, composer
  112. “Walking with the Enemy,” Timothy Williams, composer
  113. “Wild Tales,” Gustavo Santaolalla, composer
  114. “X-Men: Days of Future Past,” John Ottman, composer

A Reminder List of works submitted in the Original Score category will be made available with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch, who shall vote in the order of their preference for not more than five achievements.

The five achievements receiving the highest number of votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award.

To be eligible, the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring, and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer.

Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.

The 87th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 15, 2015, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 22, 2015, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, and will be televised live by the ABC Television Network.

The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.