Meet the 2014 Student Academy Award Winners

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Academy announced Friday that fifteen students have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 41st Student Academy Awards competition.

They will arrive in Los Angeles for a week of industry activities that will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood.

The medal placements – gold, silver and bronze – in the five award categories will be announced at the ceremony.

[ Also Read: How Oscars Are Losing Their Sheen ]

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):


“Oscillate,” Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York

“Person,” Drew Brown, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida


“Higher Sky,” Teng Cheng, University of Southern California

“Owned,” Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah

“Yamashita,” Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California


“The Apothecary,” Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University

“One Child,” Zijian Mu, New York University

“White Earth,” J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University


“Above the Sea,” Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York

“Door God,” Yulin Liu, New York University

“Interstate,” Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, California

Foreign Film

“Border Patrol,” Peter Baumann, The Northern Film School, United Kingdom

“Nocebo,” Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany

“Paris on the Water,” Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel

This year saw first-time honors go to Tel Aviv University, Israel, and The Northern Film School, United Kingdom, in the foreign competition. Academy members voted the winners from a field of 49 finalists, announced earlier this month.

[ Also Read: Craig Zadan and Neil Meron to Produce the 2015 Oscars ]

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.

Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

The 41st Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 7 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets may be obtained online or by mail.

Any remaining tickets will be made available at the door on the evening of the event. The DGA Theater is located at 7920 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the world’s preeminent movie-related organization, with a membership of more than 6,000 men and women working in cinema.

Photo courtesy: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.