The Academy Elects 2017–18 Board of Governors


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Thursday its newly elected 2017–18 Board of Governors.

Those elected to the Board for the first time are:

Whoopi Goldberg, Actors Branch

Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch

Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch

Wynn P. Thomas, Designers Branch

Kimberly Peirce, Directors Branch

David Linde, Executives Branch

Christina Kounelias, Public Relations Branch

Thomas R. Sito, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch

Larry Karaszewski, Writers Branch

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:

Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch

Kate Amend, Documentary Branch

Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch

Kathryn L. Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Charles Bernstein, Music Branch

Albert Berger, Producers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus is:

Richard Edlund, Visual Effects Branch

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.