The Academy Elects 2018–19 Board of Governors

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced its newly elected 2018–19 Board of Governors, who assume their posts as of July 1.

Those elected to the Board for the first time are:

  • Alfred Molina, Actors Branch
  • Tom Duffield, Designers Branch
  • Susanne Bier, Directors Branch
  • Bonnie Arnold, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:

  • Bernard Telsey, Casting Directors Branch
  • Daryn Okada, Cinematographers Branch
  • Rory Kennedy, Documentary Branch
  • Jim Gianopulos, Executives Branch
  • Carol Littleton, Film Editors Branch
  • Lois Burwell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
  • Michael Giacchino, Music Branch
  • Scott Millan, Sound Branch
  • John Knoll, Visual Effects Branch
  • Billy Ray, Writers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus are:

  • Jeffrey Kurland, Costume Designers Branch
  • Sid Ganis, Public Relations Branch

The balloting in the Academy’s Producers Branch produced a tie between candidates Jason Blum and Jennifer Todd, necessitating a runoff election. Voting will begin Monday, June 18, and end Tuesday, June 19. The Academy last held a runoff election in 2016 for the Film Editors Branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.